Out with the old bigotry and in with the new bigotry

Standard

Prime Minister Julia Gillard says she does not support legalising gay marriage in Australia.

Labor policy on gay marriage will remain the same under her prime ministership, Ms Gillard told Austereo show today.

“We believe the marriage act is appropriate in its current form, that is recognising that marriage is between a man and a woman, but we have as a government taken steps to equalise treatment for gay couples,” Ms Gillard said.

Asked if that was also her personal view, Ms Gillard said it was.

The Age

Last year I lost my passport which was a really stressful experience in itself. However, when I was filling out the application form, one of the questions was “Are you married?” I was flummoxed. I am married in Canada (where I was applying for a new passport). I am not married in Australia (the country issuing the passport).

So I phoned the consulate in Vancouver. No one answered the phone. I left a message and no one called me back. I phoned the high commission in Ottawa. No one answered the phone. At that point I was stressed, crying and unable to leave a message. When I phoned Wife in tears, she was kind enough to call the consulate in Toronto. She was informed that I should check the married box but write a note on the application stating that I was aware that I was not worried in Canada.

I was devastated and furious. I was devastated that my marriage was reduced to disclaimer. I was furious that my marriage was reduced to a disclaimer.

When I went to Vancouver to lodge the paperwork, I did not write a disclaimer on the paperwork. I would like to say that I wanted to stick it to the man. However, I simply forgot because I was so stressed trying to pay for the trip and passport, trying to find a guarantor and finding the consulate.

No one noticed. No one asked if I was married in Canada or Australia. No one asked to see my marriage certificate. No one asked if I was married to someone of the opposite sex.

The long winded point that I’m trying to make is that the country did not collapse because, for the briefest of moments, the Australian government recognised that I was married. For the briefest of moments, I was recognised in my entirety.

Leave a Reply

