Summer

Standard

Australians and Canadians have very different attitudes about summer.

Australians enjoy the beginning of summer. It’s nice to see the sun peek out from behind the clouds, leave our jackets in the wardrobe and plan barbeques. However, as the weeks where the temperature never dips below the high twenties, even at night, pass, as the beaches become more and more crowded as people attempt to escape the sweltering heat, as the sidewalk burns and the public transportation stops working … well, winter sounds like an amazing respite.

However, Canadians enjoy every moment of summer. It’s amazing to watch the snow melt, to leave coats and boots and mittens and hats in the closet. It also signals the beginning of numerous outdoor festivals and events. People take holidays in order to spend time with their friends and family.

Which is where I have been. Spending time with Wife (she alternates between loving my company and wanting to murder me). Spending time with friends. Rekindling old connections and making new ones.

And I’ve been loving it.

2 responses »

  1. I love summer! Every time spring is starting to creep in the dead of winter, I look forward to the nights when it grow shorter and the days grow longer. People tend be more happier in summer and much more approachable and friendlier. I’ve enjoyed my summer and it’s just sad that it’s going to end soon. Oh well… 6 more months to go and it’s springtime again! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for commenting!

      I have a love-dislike relationship with Canadian winters. I love watching the snow fall gently to the ground from my living room window (it doesn’t snow in my hometown). But I dislike everything else about it. Oh well. At least I look fabulous bundled up in a sweater. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

