Well educated

Standard

I’m not poorly educated. I finished secondary school. I have a B.A with a major in political science from a very respectable university. However, I still feel that I have enormous gaps in my knowledge. There is simply so much that I don’t know about world history, feminist history, transgendered politics, political ideologies, philosophy, literature, anti racism, science, mathematics, religion and I could go on.

Wife, who is a teacher and also incredibly smart, says that education is a life long journey. That you won’t just wake up one morning and know everything in the world. I do agree that it is a life long journey. However, I’m not quite sure how I should approach this journey.

Sometimes I am a little bit broody that I am no longer a student.  I had access to an amazing library. Then I remember that I hated writing eassys in my first, second and then the first semester of third year.

So if you had to recomend three, easily accesible* books that would enrich another person’s understanding of the world, what would they be? What are the books that transformed your life?

*By easily accesible, I mean that they could be purchased on Amazon or in the public library of a conservative city.

4 responses »

  1. Female Masculinity by Judith Halberstam, The Trouble with Normal by Michael Warner (a little dated, but still good) and Lessons from the Fat-o-sphere by Kate Harding.

    • Thank you for your comment and reccomendations! I love Lessons from the Fat-o-sphere. 🙂 Interestingly I was actually looking at Female Masculinity the last time I ordered some books from Amazon, but was worried that I would not have enough of a grounding in gender theory. But I’ll definitely check it out!

Leave a Reply

